Monday 30th November, -0001

Australian Youth Orchestra Board Appointments

We are delighted to welcome four new directors to the Australian Youth Orchestra board following the recent Annual General Meeting. Karina Filipi, Linda Fox, Professor Scott Harrison and Sandra Robertson bring a wealth of knowledge and experience within their respective fields to AYO.


Karina Filipi is a familiar face in the AYO community, having been the principal tuba of the Australian Youth Orchestra from 2011-2013, and a tuba tutor in the years since. She is currently the Acting Principal Tuba at Orchestra Victoria. Karina holds both a Masters in Music Performance from Sydney Conservatorium of Music, and a Master of Arts in Music Performance from the Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK) in Zürich, Switzerland. Karina is currently undertaking a Masters of Music Pedagogy.

Linda Fox is a chartered accountant with 30 years’ experience as an executive director including as CFO and COO of Colonial First State Investments, part of the Commonwealth Bank of Australia.

Linda is also a passionate supporter of the performing arts and an orchestral player and committee member of North Sydney Symphony Orchestra.

Professor Scott Harrison is currently Pro Vice Chancellor (Arts, Education and Law) at Griffith University. He entered the higher education sector following a dual career in education and performing arts and has performance experience in opera and music theatre as both singer and musical director. He was previously Director of the Queensland Conservatorium and has been the recipient of grants in the areas of pedagogy, music and health and employability.

Sandra Robertson is currently Director of Fundraising for Breast Cancer Network Australia. She has over 25 years’ experience in the not-for-profit sector in Australia and Canada, including leading several major fundraising campaigns, and has come to know more about AYO through her previous role at the Melbourne Recital Centre.

Current Board Directors
Ms Sally Basser, Dr Andrew Lu AM, Dr Kate Hadwen, Ms Jessica Block and Mr Lachlan Bramble were re-appointed to the Board for a further term of three years.