NMC Composition Banner

Iain Grandage, tutor

Iain Grandage


Composition Program


For young composers, there can be few experiences more powerful than engaging with the talents drawn together at AYO National Music Camp. With its emphasis on practical performance outcomes, the Composition program provides a fantastic opportunity for the aspiring composer.

The breadth of experience of this year’s Composition tutor provides an insight into the opportunities that await young composers at the AYO National Music Camp



Iain Grandage is a music director, cellist and composer of music for theatre, dance and the concert hall. He has been
Composer-in-Residence with the West Australian Symphony Orchestra, the Youth Orchestras of Australia, UWA School of Music and Black Swan Theatre Company and in 2010/11 was the Ian Potter Emerging Composer Fellow.

He has won Helpmann and Green Room Awards for his theatre scores, which include Cloudstreet, The Blue Room, The Book of Everything, In the Next Room, Optimism, Vamp, Babes in the Wood, Plainsong, The Merry-Go-Round in the Sea, The Odyssey, and True West for companies including Co.B Belvoir, Malthouse Theatre, Melbourne and Sydney Theatre Companies, and Black Swan Theatre. His works for dance include scores for the award-winning Lawn (Splinter Group), Remember Me (DanceNorth with the Townsville Chamber Music Festival) and Drover’s Wives (Steamworks/PIAF2006).

Iain’s concert works have been performed by the Brodsky Quartet, Australian String Quartet, Australian Brass Quintet, Sara Macliver, Craig Ogden, Miki Tsunoda, and choirs and orchestras around Australia. He has won APRA/AMC awards for a number of works and has completed orchestral arrangements for Tim Minchin, Ben Folds, The Whitlams, Augie March, Tim Rogers, Tiddas and Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu. Iain has worked as musical supervisor and arranger for The Black Arm Band on their award-winning performances Hidden Republic and dirtsong and most recently Seven Songs – a collaboration with Sinéad O’Connor, Rickie Lee Jones, John Cale, Meshell Ndegeocello and Orchestra Victoria for the 2010 Melbourne Festival.